Open Menu Close Menu

Advancing equality and diversity in universities and colleges


Our team

The ECU team is made up of people, working on areas of policy, research, resources and communications. Find out who you need to talk to and how to contact them.

Get in touch

For policy and research enquiries >

GaryL websiteGary Loke, Deputy CEO/Head of Policy and External Relations (on sabbatical until 1 February 2018)

Gary Loke is the Equality Challenge Unit Deputy CEO and Head of Policy and External Relations. He oversees ECU’s policy and research work, training and learning development and delivery, and external relations.

Telephone: 020 7438 1024

Email: gary.loke@ecu.ac.uk

Twitter: @ECUGary

 

David Malcolm, Deputy CEO/Head of Policy and External Relations

David Malcolm is on a 12 month fixed-term secondment from NUS and will be covering Gary Loke’s role whilst he is on a 12 month career break.

Telephone: 020 7438 1024

Email: david.malcolm@ecu.ac.uk

 

amandaa-websiteAmanda Aldercotte, Researcher

Amanda is a Researcher and works on the development, analysis and delivery of ECU’s research initiatives.

Telephone: 020 3870 6011

Email: amanda.aldercotte@ecu.ac.uk

 

DavidB websiteDavid Bass, Scotland Programme Manager

David manages ECU’s programme of work for Scottish colleges and HEIs, which is funded by the Scottish Funding Council.

Telephone: 01313 223 736

Email: david.bass@ecu.ac.uk

Twitter: @ECUDavidB

 

Anoushka Bonwick, Training and Learning Officer

Anoushka provides key administrative support to the training and learning team and contributes to the development of ECU’s training and learning services.

Telephone: 020 3870 6016

Email: anoushka.bonwick@ecu.ac.uk

 

Anna Bradshaw, Policy Officer 

Anna works collaboratively with the policy team at ECU to assist the team in implementing projects and, developing guidance and information for the sector

Telephone: 020 3870 6021

Email: anna.bradshaw@ecu.ac.uk 

 

AshleeC websiteAshlee Christoffersen, Researcher

Ashlee is a Researcher and works on the development, analysis and delivery of ECU’s research initiatives.

Telephone: 020 3870 6006

Email: ashlee.christoffersen@ecu.ac.uk

 

TinuC-websiteTinu Cornish, Senior Training and Learning Adviser

Tinu advises on the development of ECU’s training and learning resources.

Telephone: 020 7269 6548

Email: tinu.cornish@ecu.ac.uk

 

MeganD-websiteMegan Dunn, Senior Policy Adviser

Megan is a Senior Policy Adviser and leads on disability and age.

Telephone: 020 7438 1021

Email: megan.dunn@ecu.ac.uk

 

KevinKevin Guyan, Researcher

Kevin is a Researcher and works on the development, analysis and delivery of ECU’s research initiatives.

Telephone: 020 7438 1022

Email: kevin.guyan@ecu.ac.uk

Twitter: @kevin_guyan

 

juliah-websiteJulia Halej, Researcher

Julia is a Researcher and works on the development, analysis and delivery of ECU’s research initiatives.

Telephone: 020 3870 6005

Email: julia.halej@ecu.ac.uk

 

annei-websiteAnne Ireson, Policy Officer

Anne provides policy support to ECU’s Scotland office.

Telephone: 01313 223735

Email: anne.ireson@ecu.ac.uk

 

Sukhjit Kainth, Training and Learning Adviser

Sukhjit provides strategic and operational support to the development of ECU’s training and learning services.

Telephone: 020 3870 6018

Email: sukhjit.kainth@ecu.ac.uk 

 

JessMJessica Moody, Senior Policy Adviser

Jessica is a Senior Policy Adviser and leads on social mobility and sexual orientation.

Telephone: 020 3870 6013

Email: jessica.moody@ecu.ac.uk

Twitter: @ECUJessM

 

StephanieM-websiteStephanie Millar, Senior Policy Adviser

Stephanie is a Senior Policy Adviser and member of the ECU team working with universities and colleges in Scotland.

 

Telephone: 01313 223 736

Email: stephanie.millar@ecu.ac.uk

 

ClareP websiteClare Pavitt, Training and Learning Manager

Clare is responsible for developing ECU’s training and learning resources.

Telephone: 020 7269 6543

Email: clare.pavitt@ecu.ac.uk Twitter: @ECUClareP

 

EllenP websiteEllen Pugh, Policy Programme Manager

Ellen Pugh is the Programme Manager (Policy) at ECU. She has many years of experience working on equality issues especially related to gender and gender identity. Ellen works part-time on Tuesday, Wednesdays and Thursdays.

Telephone: 020 7438 1018

Email: ellen.pugh@ecu.ac.uk Twitter: @ECUEllen

 

Kay Steven, Policy Officer

Kay provides policy support to the ECU team working with universities and colleges in Scotland.

Telephone: 01313 223738

Email: kay.steven@ecu.ac.uk

 

 

For Athena SWAN and Equality charter enquiries >

 

SarahD websiteSarah Dickinson Hyams, Head of Equality Charters

Sarah leads the strategic development of all work relating to the delivery of ECU’s equality charter schemes, comprising Athena SWAN (incorporating the gender equality charter) and its race equality charter.

 

Telephone: 020 7438 1013

Email: sarah.dickinsonhyams@ecu.ac.uk

Twitter: @Athena_SWAN

 

RuthEG-websiteRuth Gilligan, Athena SWAN Manager

Ruth is the Athena SWAN Manager and has responsibility for Athena SWAN in the UK and Ireland.

 

Telephone: 020 7269 6546

Email: ruth.gilligan@ecu.ac.uk

 

ClaireH websiteClaire Herbert, Race Equality Charter Manager (currently on maternity leave)

Claire manages ECU’s Race Equality Charter.

Telephone: 020 7438 1016

Email: claire.herbert@ecu.ac.uk Twitter: @ECUClaireH

 

JamesL-website(2)James Lush, Equality Charters Development Manager

James manages the development of ECU’s Equality Charters.

Telephone: 020 7269 6547

Email: james.lush@ecu.ac.uk Twitter: @jlush2

 

SarahF-websiteSarah Fink, Athena SWAN Programme Manager (Ireland)

Sarah provides strategic and operational support to the Athena SWAN Charter.

 

Telephone: 020 7269 6541

Email: sarah.fink@ecu.ac.uk

 

Holly Howe, Equality Charters Operations Manager 

Holly manages the operation of the Athena SWAN Charter and the Race Equality Charter.

Telephone: 020 3870 6023

Email: holly.howe@ecu.ac.uk 

 

Jessica Kitsell, Equality Charters Adviser

Jessica provides support to the operation and development of the Athena SWAN charter.

Telephone: 020 3870 6022

Email: jessica.kitsell@ecu.ac.uk

 

Kelsey Paske, Equality Charters Adviser

Kelsey provides support to the operation and development of the Athena SWAN charter.

Telephone: 020 7438 1019

Email: kelsey.paske@ecu.ac.uk

 

Annie Ruddlesden, Equality Charters Adviser 

Annie provides support to the operation and development of the Athena SWAN charter.

Telephone: 020 7269 6542

Email: annie.ruddlesden@ecu.ac.uk

 

AzariaAzaria Sanusi, Equality Charters Adviser

Azaria provides strategic and operational support to the Race Equality Charter.

Telephone: 020 3870 6012

Email: azaria.sanusi@ecu.ac.uk

 

StaceyB-websiteStacey Brown, Equality Charters Officer

Stacey provides administrative support and advice on ECU’s charters

Telephone: 020 7438 1026

Email: stacey.brown@ecu.ac.uk

 

EleanorEleanor McDavis, Equality Charters Officer

Eleanor provides administrative support and advice on ECU’s charters.

 

Telephone: 020 3870 6014

Email: eleanor.mcdavis@ecu.ac.uk

For communication, engagement and media enquiries >
Michelle Edwards-Norcisse, Communications Manager

Michelle oversees activity across all of ECU’s communication channels and functions.

Telephone: 020 7269 6549

Email: M.Edwardsnorcisse@ecu.ac.uk

 

laurens-websiteLauren Sandhu, Communications Officer

Lauren provides communications, content and production support to ECU.

Telephone: 020 7269 6540

Email: lauren.sandhu@ecu.ac.uk

 

AbyWAby Williams, Member Engagement Manager

Aby is responsible for overseeing ECU’s subscription service, delivering effective member recruitment, engagement and retention.

Telephone: 020 7269 6544

Email: aby.williams@ecu.ac.uk

 

Danielle Campbell, Member Engagement and CRM Officer

Danielle provides customer relations management (CRM) maintenance, development and intelligence support to the Member Engagement Manager and the external relations team.

Telephone: 020 3870 6003

Email: danielle.campbell@ecu.ac.uk

 

Andrew O’Rourke, Member Support Officer

Andrew supports the delivery of ECU’s member benefits and services.

Telephone: 020 3870 6015

Email: andrew.orourke@ecu.ac.uk

 

heleng-websiteHelen Galliford, Events Manager

Helen manages and coordinates all ECU events.

Telephone: 020 3870 6007

Email: helen.galliford@ecu.ac.uk

 

Arianna Franculacci, Resources Officer (Events)

Arianna provides events support to the external relations teams and resources support to the resources team.

Telephone: 020 7438 1023

Email: arianna.franculacci@ecu.ac.uk

Senior management team >
DavidR website

David Ruebain, Chief Executive

David is Chief Executive of Equality Challenge Unit.

 

Telephone: 0207 438 1012

Email: david.ruebain@ecu.ac.uk

Twitter: @ECUDavid_CEO

 

JulietA websiteJuliet Adams, Head of Resources

Juliet Adams is Head of Resources at Equality Challenge Unit. The role encompasses responsibility for finance, HR and facilities. Juliet is also Company Secretary to the Board of Directors.

Telephone: 020 7438 1014

Email: juliet.adams@ecu.ac.uk

 

SarahD websiteSarah Dickinson Hyams, Head of Equality Charters

Sarah is Head of Equality Charters at ECU. Sarah overseas the strategic development of Athena SWAN and ECU’s Race Equality Charter.

Telephone: 020 7438 1013

Email: sarah.dickinsonhyams@ecu.ac.uk

Twitter: @Athena_SWAN

 

GaryL websiteGary Loke, Deputy CEO/Head of Policy and External Relations (on sabbatical until 1 February 2018)

Gary Loke is the Equality Challenge Unit Deputy CEO and Head of Policy and External Relations. He oversees ECU’s policy and research work, training and learning development and delivery, and external relations.

Telephone: 020 7438 1024

Email: gary.loke@ecu.ac.uk

Twitter: @ECUGary

 

David Malcolm, Deputy CEO/Head of Policy and External Relations

David Malcolm is on a 12 month fixed-term secondment from NUS and will be covering Gary Loke’s role whilst he is on a 12 month career break.

Telephone: 020 7438 1024

Email: david.malcolm@ecu.ac.uk

For resources, business development and general enquiries >
JulietA websiteJuliet Adams, Head of Resources

Juliet Adams is Head of Resources at Equality Challenge Unit. The role encompasses responsibility for finance, HR and facilities. Juliet is also Company Secretary to the Board of Directors.

Telephone: 020 7438 1014

Email: juliet.adams@ecu.ac.uk

 

Jonathan Gascoigne, Performance and Planning Manager

Jonathan provides strategic, policy and operational support to the chief executive and other members of the senior management team (SMT) in the development of ECU and delivery of its activities.

Telephone: 020 3870 6001

Email: jonathan.gascoigne@ecu.ac.uk

 

VictoriaW websiteVictoria Walter, HR and Resources Manager (currently on maternity leave)

Telephone: 020 3870 6002

Email: victoria.walter@ecu.ac.uk

 

 

JoyH websiteJoy Henry, Resources Officer (HR) and PA to David Ruebain

Joy provides support to the chief executive and administrative assistance to ECU staff.

Telephone: 020 7438 1010

Email: joy.henry@ecu.ac.uk