Open Menu Close Menu

Athena SWAN in Ireland

In a major national initiative supported by the Higher Education Authority, the Athena SWAN Charter was launched in Ireland in early 2015.

Figures published by the Higher Education Authority highlight gender inequality as an issue for the sector. Across Irish universities, only 19% of professors are women. In institutes of technology, women make up 45% of academic staff but just 29% of senior academic staff. In subjects such as physical science, mathematics, ICT and engineering the gender balance drops even further.

Seven universities, 14 institutes of technology and the Royal College of Surgeons are eligible to participate in the charter, which is committed to advancing women’s careers in science, technology, engineering, mathematics and medicine (STEMM) employment in academia.

Guidance for applications >

For the three-year pilot of the Charter, the pre-May 2015 Athena SWAN process has been adapted for the Irish sector. Irish institutions and STEMM departments should continue to use the adapted materials to apply for awards. Following ongoing review, the remit of Athena SWAN in Ireland may be extended to arts, humanities, social science, business and law (AHSSBL) departments, at which time updated application forms and guidance will be released.

Applications for ECU’s Athena SWAN awards are accepted in April and November each year. The next deadline is Wednesday 30 November 2016.

Applicants must inform us of their intention to submit two months in advance of each deadline.

A submissions timeline with further details can be downloaded here. An Athena SWAN Ireland Seminar including an awards ceremony will be held on an annual basis.

You may refer to the pre-May Athena SWAN handbook for official guidance, though you may also find the post-May 2015 handbook helpful for additional advice.

Application forms >
Athena SWAN Ireland Committee >

Contact Equality Charters Adviser, Sarah Fink for more information about the Athena SWAN Ireland Committee.

Eligible HEIs >

To be elible to apply for an Athena SWAN award, HEIs and IoTs must commit in writing to the Athena SWAN principles. A template letter can be found here. To be eligible to apply for the expanded Athena SWAN Charter award, the HEI or IoT must sign up to an expanded set of principles. Application forms for the expanded Charter will be released in 2017. A template letter to commit to the expanded principles can be found here.

  • Athlone Institute of Technology
  • Cork Institute of Technology
  • Dundalk Institute of Technology
  • Institute of Technology, Blanchardstown
  • Institute of Technology, Carlow
  • Institute of Technology, Sligo
  • Institute of Technology, Tallaght
  • Institute of Technology, Tralee
  • Dublin City University
  • Dublin Institute of Technology
  • Dún Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology
  • Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology
  • Letterkenny Institute of Technology
  • Limerick Institute of Technology
  • Maynooth University
  • National University of Ireland, Galway
  • Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
  • Trinity College Dublin
  • University College Cork
  • University College Dublin
  • University of Limerick
  • Waterford Institute of Technology
Award holders >

University College Cork

  • Institutional award: Bronze
  • Held since: 2016

University of Limerick

  • Institutional award: Bronze
    Held since: 2015

Departmental awards

  • Department of Life Sciences
    Bronze, held since 2015
  • Department of Mathematics and Statistics
    Bronze, held since 2015

Trinity College Dublin

  • Institutional award: Bronze
    Held since: 2015

Departmental awards

  • School of Chemistry
    Bronze, held since 2015
  • School of Natural Sciences
    Bronze, held since 2015
  • School of Physics
    Bronze, held since 2015
News >
Events >