Skip to navigation

You are here: Home News 2009 SWAN award winners announced
Document Actions
  • ShareThis
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

2009 SWAN award winners announced

06 August 2009
Related subject:

35 awards have been made to universities and departments bringing the total number of awards to 53

The 2009 round of Athena SWAN awards attracted an unprecedented number of applications and a record 35 awards have been made.  This is a clear indication that, even in these harsh economic times, universities and their departments want to attract and promote female talent.  It brings the total number of awards to 53 (1 Gold, 24 Silver and 28 Bronze).

The 2009 awards will be presented at a celebratory lunch at Birmingham Botanical Gardens on Tuesday 29 September, where the keynote speaker will be Dame Janet Finch, Vice-Chancellor at Keele University.

Congratulations to the following universities and departments who have been successful in this round of awards:


  • University of Bath
  • University of Bristol (R)
  • University of Cambridge (R)
  • Cardiff University
  • University of Edinburgh (R)
  • Imperial College (R)
  • Institute of Cancer Research
  • University of Leeds
  • Keele University (R)
  • Loughborough University
  • University of Newcastle
  • University of Nottingham (R)
  • University of Plymouth (R)
  • University of Sheffield
  • University of Southampton (R)
  • University of Sunderland (R)
  • University of Swansea
  • University College London (R)
  • University of York (R)


  • School of Chemistry, University of Edinburgh (R)
  • Department of Chemistry, Imperial College
  • Department of Chemical Engineering, Imperial College
  • National Heart and Lung Institute, Imperial College
  • Department of Physics, Imperial College
  • School of Life Sciences, Keele University
  • Faculty of Life Sciences, University of Manchester
  • School of Biosciences, University of Nottingham
  • School of Pharmacy, University of Nottingham
  • Faculty of Technology, University of Plymouth
  • School of Biological Sciences, Queen's University Belfast
  • School of Construction Management and Engineering, University of Reading
  • Department of Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering, University College London
  • Division of Psychology and Language Sciences, University College London
  • MRC Laboratory for Molecular Cell Biology, University College London
  • Department of Chemical Engineering, University College London

(R) renewals of previous awards

Related items



ECU Press Office

Anna Roberts Allison
Communications Manager

Telephone: 020 7438 1018

Out of Office enquiries

For urgent media enquiries outside of ECU office hours
Mobile: 07810 556 724