Open Menu Close Menu

Race Equality Charter Patrons

Joining ECU's Equality Charters team in promoting race equality

We are delighted to announce the details of ECU’s Race Equality Charter patrons.

Drawn from across the higher education sector, our five patrons bring their academic expertise and backgrounds in race equality to support and champion the Race Equality Charter principles.

The patrons will help ECU to make sure race equality remains on the HE agenda, to inspire and encourage institutions to commit to improving the representation, progression and success of minority ethnic staff and students within higher education.

Baroness Afshar OBE >

AFSHAR Baroness for website Baroness Haleh Afshar is emeritus professor of politics at the University of York and serves as a crossbench peer in the House of Lords, she is also a fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences.

Professor Aneez Esmail >

  Aneez EsmailProfessor Esmail is a professor of general practice at the University of Manchester and continues to work as a clinician.  He is an active campaigner for equality both in higher education and the NHS.

Professor Kevin Hylton >

KH Sports Debate-8398 Kevin Hylton is professor of equality and diversity in sport, leisure and education at Leeds Beckett University and is the first Black professor to hold this title. Professor Hylton has published extensively about diversity, equity and inclusion.

Dr Nicola Rollock >

Nicola Rollock photo Dr Nicola Rollock is deputy director of the Centre for research in race and education at the University of Birmingham. Dr Rollock was included in the 2014 Powerlist of Britain’s most influential Black people and was recently recognized as a 2015 Woman of Achievement by the Women of the Year Council.

Professor Laura Serrant OBE >

Laura Serrant Professor Laura Serrant OBE  is Head of the School of Nursing, at Manchester Metropolitan University. Professor Serrant was awarded an OBE in the Queen’s 2018 birthday honours, Queens Nurse status by the Queen’s Nursing Institute in 2014 and was recognised by the Health Service Journal in three separate categories including the BME Pioneers category.