Open Menu Close Menu

Home Article Athena SWAN winners celebrate their achievement

Athena SWAN winners celebrate their achievement

Published: 10/07/2014

Athena SWAN winners have gathered to celebrate their achievement in the latest round of awards.

The awards ceremony and dinner took place today (10 July 2014) at Durham University. In the last round of submissions, panels agreed 89 awards out of 125 applications raising the current number of award-holders to 325 across the UK.

Click here for the full list of Athena SWAN award holders.

Sarah Dickinson, Athena SWAN Manager said:

‘We were delighted at the three departmental gold awards from this round, the most gold awards in an award round to date.

The number of successful departments and institutions receiving Athena SWAN awards in the November 2013 submission round illustrates the growth of the charter.’

The awards were presented by Professor Dame Julia Higgins, emeritus professor of polymer science in the department of chemical engineering at Imperial College London. Dame Julia was chair of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) from 2003 to 2007, and vice-president and foreign secretary of the Royal Society from 2001 to 2006.

ECU’s Athena SWAN charter awards have been running since 2005, recognising the commitment of the higher education sector to address gender inequalities, tackle the unequal representation of women in science and to improve career progression for female academics.

ECU publishes an Athena SWAN awards booklet that showcases good practice from award winners.