Open Menu Close Menu

Home Article Gender equality gold for Scotland

Gender equality gold for Scotland

Published: 07/05/2018

Advance HE is pleased to announce the University of Glasgow’s Institute of Health and Wellbeing has been awarded an Athena SWAN department gold award, recognising its commitment to gender equality.

The institute joins an exclusive group of 11 Athena SWAN department gold award holders, while St George’s, University of London, joins 13 other universities in achieving an institution silver award.

Advance HE’s Athena SWAN Charter recognises higher education institutions’ and departments’ commitment to tackling gender inequality in higher education. It was expanded in May 2015 to include arts, humanities, social sciences, and business and law departments (AHSSBL) and professional and support staff.

The Met Office and Plymouth Marine Laboratory are two new Bronze Research Institute award holders. In Ireland, where the charter was established in 2015, there are new institution bronze awards for National University of Ireland, Galway and Maynooth University. Maynooth University is the first Irish institution to receive an award under the expanded process.

Advance HE’s Athena SWAN manager, Dr Ruth Gilligan, was delighted with the latest results. She said:

“Congratulations to all the institutions and department who have been successful in the latest round of Athena SWAN Charter awards.  This has been the culmination of many months of hard work, and this achievement demonstrates your great commitment to advancing gender equality in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) and AHSSBL subjects and employment.

“The November 2017 round saw 164 applications accessed and 105 awards conferred, an increase over the previous April 2017 round.  The overall success rate also increased to 64% (compared with 59% in previous round).”

Advance HE’s Athena SWAN Charter is a highly successful international programme, which has grown from ten founding university members in 2005 to 159 UK university and research institute members. Applications for awards are assessed by peer-review panels, and awards are valid for up to four years, after which the applicant must demonstrate progress to renew or upgrade their award.

The full list of winners is available on our website.

Advance HE is formed from the merger of Equality Challenge Unit, the Higher Education Academy and the Leadership Foundation for Higher Education:

Athena SWAN 2018 statistics are also available to download here.